AmazingAi18

Mark Striegl: Up Close and Personal

In sports on September 9, 2012 at 12:12 pm

His name has now become a byword among MMA fanatics. So what’s with this Mugen Madness? Apart from being a warrior inside the octagon, displaying superb fighting stance, his boyish good looks could easily send many a girls’ hearts go Boom badoom boom boom badoom boom bass. A real knockout!
So let’s get to know PXC and MMA-ville’s Man of the Hour, Mark Striegl.

-Hello Mark! Wherever I go, people are talking about you, I’m pretty sure an endorsement deal is in the works and maybe a showbiz stint?

MS– Haha. Maybe they’re talking about another Mark? Later down the road I think an MMA musical would be a lot of fun ;P haha

-Why Mugen?

MS– “Mugen” is Japanese for limitless. During one of my early pro fights, I was asked by the promoter to provide a nickname…if I didn’t choose one, they would have chosen one for me. So rather than get stuck with something I didn’t like, I said “how about Mugen?” For all you anime fans out there…I was watching Samurai Champloo at the time. Ever since then it stuck.

-When did you realize that you wanted to become a fighter?

MS– Ever since I was young I wanted to be a professional athlete in some capacity in some sport. I didn’t think it would be MMA though.

-Who/what inspired you?

MS– Lots of fighters continue to inspire me. Growing up, I was inspired by many of the fighters of PRIDE Fighting Championship. I loved watching Fedor Emelianenko.

-Who are your heroes?

MS– Naruto Uzumaki and Baki the Grappler (;

-You compete in a fierce and brutal world of Mixed Martial Arts, do you get scared?

MS– I get a little anxious before fights. All fighters do. So much can happen in there.

-What’s your biggest fear?

MS– Regret.

-What do you consider as your biggest accomplishment so far?

MS– That’s hard to say but I’m definitely happy about what I’ve been able to accomplish in the cage and ring up to this point.

-What motivates you to be the best in your chosen field?

MS– My family and friends.

-Any advice you can give to aspiring fighters who want to follow your path/footsteps?

MS– Just go for it if this is what you want to do. You’ll never know until you try!

-Think you’re ripe for a title shot, do we hear it coming soon?

MS– I certainly hope so. I would love a shot at PXC gold. Every fighter out there wants a shot at the belt and I’m no different.

-Has fame changed Mark Striegl?

MS– Haha well, I don’t know if I’m really that famous to begin with. I still am the same person I’ve always been and my routine hasn’t changed at all.

  1. Great article A.A. You’re expanding my horizons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

