AmazingAi18

When Dad Was Santa

In Uncategorized on November 28, 2011 at 2:21 am

Christmas is in the air…I get nostalgic everytime the Yuletide season approaches.”City sidewalks busy sidewalks,dressed in holiday style,in the air there’s a feeling of Christmas.Children laughing,people passing,meeting smile after smile,and on every street corner you’ll hear.Silver bells…it’s Christmas time in the city…” The haunting melody and lyrics never fails to bring tears to my eyes.
Every year,a fave uncle plays Santa,oh and I must say that he’s so good at it.But I vividly recall one special Christmas eve. I was five then,I overheard my older cousins talk about our uncle not being able to make it that night for he’s sick.Party pooper!In my young mind,thought Christmas won’t push through without my uncle. Sulking in one corner,suddenly I heard delightful shrieks,Santa’s here! But wait,he looks different,what with his bronzed-skin and where’s the big belly?! Maybe he has seen my inquisitive and doubtful look,Santa approached me,handed me his gift and in that all too familiar voice,he says,Merry Christmas,Aileen… He even knew my name,cool!I’ve noticed though,he has a striking resemblance to my Dad! Looked around,Dad’s nowhere in sight.My mind starts to wander as to how great it is if Dad’s indeed Santa.Instead of dropping me off to school in a car,we’ll be riding a reindeer.Wow!
When Dad got bedridden because of a lingering illness,all I can think about is that life’s unfair.Dad can’t be sick,Santa’s invincible!. A few days before he passed away,he called me and whispered into my ear,”I want you to play I’ll Be Home for Christmas,that’s my promise to you and Mom…”
Up to this day,I still write to God,“I don’t need North Pole’s Santa,that’s my Dad’s job.Make him come home to me and mom even just on Christmas eve…”

  1. Very well told. Brought a tear to my eyes, and that’s not an easy thing to do. Merry Christmas my friend!

Leave a Reply

